Review: The Untouchables by J.J. McAvoy

Title: The Untouchables(Ruthless People #2)
Author: J.J. McAvoy

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Pub Date: January 22, 2015
Rating: 4 Stars

Our thoughts...
  
 
J.J. McAvoy has weaved together a story of love, hate, deceit, and mystery. This is a true page-turner; once you start, you won’t want to put it down. 

One of the most unique things about The Untouchables was the multiple POVs we are given throughout this story. 

Review : Never Never


Title: Never Never
Author: Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

Genre: New Adult
Pub Date: January 8, 2015
Rating: 5 Stars



Our thoughts...
  

I was riveted from the beginning of the story of Silas and Charlie. What we learn about the two of them quickly changes from scene to scene with clues all throughout the book. Their world has just come crashing down around them as they try to figure out who they really are, and why they have a past.

Cover Reveal and Excerpt: Black Iris

 Check out the beautiful cover for Leah Raeder's upcoming novel, Black Iris! Don't let that gorgeous flower fool you; I'm guessing things aren't as safe as they seem. And while you're at it, Black Iris is available for preorder! Check out the links at the bottom so you don't miss what is sure to be a thrilling read.
 

Review and Giveaway: Unteachable by Leah Raeder


Title: Unteachable
Author: Leah Raeder

Genre: Young Adult, Romance
Publisher: Atria Books (Reprint)

Pub Date: March 2014 (Reprint)
Rating: 5 Stars

Our thoughts...

It takes a great writer to create something beautiful, meaningful, and captivating in a genre that is frequently diluted with clich├ęs and artificial angst. The young adult (YA) genre has a tendency to fall flat for me. Sure, there have been the few exceptions that the chunk of the world has fallen in love with (Hunger Games, anyone?) but aside from those rare gems, the genre tends to exhaust me.

Review: Savages by Don WInslow

Title: Savages
Author: Don Winslow

Genre: Suspense/Thriller
Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Pub Date: July 2010
Rating: 5 Stars

Our thoughts...
  
 "...it's all fun and games until someone loses an I." 


This was my first encounter with Don Winslow and if his other novels are anything like Savages, I plan to devour them all.
Winslow's writing style is definitely one that people are going to either love or hate.

Giveaway: The Pact by Karina Halle

In Honor of Karina Halle breaking into the New York Times Bestsellers list we are giving away 2 Kindle copies of her bestseller, The Pact.
  

 
 

Review: One & Only by Viv Daniels

Title: One & Only
Author: Viv Daniels

Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Word for Word

Pub Date: October 2013
Rating: 4 Stars

Our thoughts...
  

This was a refreshing addition to the NA genre. The characters are smart, respectable, and not blind to the obvious. I never felt like hitting Tess or Dylan over the head and shouting, "Wake up, idiot!" What a relief that was! I feel like a common thread I've encountered lately is "smart girl being ridiculously stupid and blind."

Review and Giveaway: Perfectly Damaged by E.L. Montes


One of my favorite books of 2014 was Perfectly Damaged by E.L. Montes. Check out my video that goes over all of the reason why I feel in love with this book. Once you’ve watched the video enter the giveaway to win a signed copy of Perfectly Damaged.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal And Giveaway: Love Hurts

Have a look at Mandi Beck's amazing cover for her upcoming steamy romance, Love Hurts!
Total swoon, right?! And if the drool-worthy cover wasn't enough to get you pumped, there is even a giveaway to go with it!

FinalWrap with Blurb LOVE HURTS FINAL WRAP
Title: Love Hurts (Caged Love #1)
Author: Mandi Beck
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Pub Date: January 23, 2015

Becoming His Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Becoming His

Title: Becoming His 
Author: Mariah Dietz
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Mariah Dietz

Pub Date: December 1st 2014
Rating: 5 Stars


Our thoughts...
  

Wow! That was my thought when I was reading. Mariah is a New Author, but you wouldn’t know based on her writing. When I finally finished, it took me DAYS to process all of my emotions. I couldn’t get the characters out of my head. 

Review: A Broken Forever

Title: A Broken Forever
Author: Megan Noelle

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Megan Noelle

Pub Date: April 16, 2014
Rating: 4 Stars

Our thoughts...
  

Megan had me captivated right away with this book.  Young love, that feeling of being able to withstand anything. Grey and Steffan are high school sweethearts. They decided to marry at 18 despite their families’ objections. 

Review: The Exception

Title: The Exception
Author: Adriana Locke

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Adriana Locke

Pub Date: September 18th 2014
Rating: 4 Stars

Our thoughts...   

 Hot, funny with plenty of swoon worthy moments. Leaves you thinking that there is no way that this is her debut novel. I NEED more Cane and Jade. I’m looking forward to the next books by Adriana.

Who wants to win a FREE Kindle Fire?


For the launch of our  new blog, the ladies of The Review Loft are giving one lucky winner a Kindle Fire!  To enter, visit us at our blog, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.   You also have a chance to enter daily just by tweeting about us!  Contest ends on January 16th and the winner will be announced on Monday, January 19th.   Open to US residents only.  






Review: Stepbrother Dearest

Title: Stepbrother Dearest
Author: Penelope Ward

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Pub Date: September 23, 2014
Rating: 5 Stars

Our thoughts...
  
I was hooked from the very  first chapter. When Greta’s stepbrother Elec comes to live with them her senior year, things don’t go the way that she would hope.

Welcome to the Review Loft!

The Review Loft was created by a group of women who love to read and have a strong desire to engage with the in-between that exist in the book world. This site won’t just be about reviewing books or pimping covers, but giving readers a more well rounded look into what is taking place in the book world. It is a platform for interactive conversations, video reviews, and other creative bookish activities, as well as a place where no book is too old or to young to be discussed.

Please take a look around, get comfortable, and come back often to see what books and which characters we are bringing to life each week.